Finalists Announced for the 2017 International Balfour Award

The award for outstanding Fraternity senior will presented at Balfour Leadership Training Workshop

The Fraternity has named the following finalists for the 2017 International Balfour Award (IBA): Jeremy Fernandes, CINCINNATI 2017; Billy Green, YOUNGSTOWN 2017; and Anthony Karahalios, JOHNS HOPKINS 2017. After further interviews this summer at the Balfour Leadership Training Workshop at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio, one of them will be announced the winner during the event’s closing session on Aug. 5.

Awarded annually since the 1929 to 1930 academic year, the IBA recipient is honored for his achievements in scholastics, as well as his campus, community and Sigma Chi involvement.

Karahalios served as his chapter’s philanthropy chairman and Quaestor. He was on the dean’s list during each semester of his undergraduate career, served as president of the Johns Hopkins Applied Mathematics and Statistics club and was the founding president of the Actuarial Club. He received his undergraduate degree in applied mathematics and statistics in May 2017, graduating with a 3.99 GPA.

Green graduated in May 2017 with a 4.0 GPA and a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education with a fourth- and fifth-grade teaching endorsement. He served as Consul, Magister and Tribune of his chapter. He also worked on campus as a student librarian for Youngstown State University’s Curriculum Resource Center Collections, and as a Sunday school teacher at First Presbyterian Church of Hubbard in Hubbard, Ohio.

Fernandes was Consul, Magister and recruitment chairman of his chapter. He has served as vice president and president of both the Kolodzik Business Scholars program and the Sigma Sigma honorary society, captain of his university’s soccer club, and as an at-large representative of the Student Advisory Committee on the University Budget. He graduated with a bachelor’s of business administration in finance and economics with a 3.94 GPA.

Each chapter selects its outstanding graduating senior and awards them a Chapter Balfour Award. These recipients are then considered by their Grand Praetors for a Province Balfour Award. Each province can then nominate a Province Balfour Award winner for the IBA.

The 2017 IBA winner will join the previous year’s honoree and two undergraduate representatives to serve on the Fraternity’s Executive Committee (EC). The IBA winner will be on the committee for two years as an advocate for the undergraduates.

Many past International Balfour Award recipients have gone on to continue serving in some capacity with the Fraternity — 64th Grand Consul Keith Krach, PURDUE 1979, was an award recipient in 1979.

“Plenty of [past winners] are serving as important Fraternity volunteers, holding offices and are really involved,” says Grand Pro Consul Geddings, SOUTH CAROLINA 1985, chairman of the IBA selection committee. “We really benefit from their continued leadership.”